How I increased my Pinterest traffic by 1000% with Tailwind

April 24, 2018 42 Comments
Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  • 367
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Last Updated on

Tailwind is the best Pinterest scheduler. Within this post, I will talk about how Tailwind has changed my blog. Also, I will give a very detailed honest Tailwind Review.

My Pinterest account went from 8,259 viewers in February 2018 to a massive 427,202 viewers in December 2018.

A massive 5,000% increase in only 10 months! In this tailwind review, I will show you just how I made this happen.

“This Tailwind Review may contain affiliate links, which means we may receive a small commission, at no cost to you, if you make a purchase through a link.” 

How I increased my Pinterest traffic by over 1000% in only 2 months. Tailwind is the best pinterest scheduler

Pinterest is now the #1 social media platform sending traffic to my blog. My most popular Pinterest blog posts are over 80 homeschooling resources, over 100 of the best books for 9 year olds26 reasons why trampolining is healthy for you and travelling to New York with the family.

I had never really used Pinterest and in fact, it was the last social media platform I had joined. I first started using Pinterest in December last year, but other than joining a few group boards I didn’t really focus on it. 

Pinterest Statistics Prior to Tailwind

These are my stats direct from Pinterest in February:

February Pinterest Stats

As you can see the monthly viewers are only at just over 8k, and I had 80 followers.

In March I started to spend a bit more time on it and on the 22nd March I started using Tailwind.

March Pinterest Stats

This is a big jump month on month, but nothing like the jump in April:

last 30 days Pinterest Stats. best pinterest scheduler

As you can see not only have the average monthly Pinterest viewers increased massively but also the monthly engaged viewers have too. The difference between the two is the people that engage with your post have either read it or pinned it.

Now look at the last 7 days in April:

Last 7 days pinterest stats

So from February, I was averaging monthly views of 8,259 and in April it is now 127,059! I currently only have 496 followers on Pinterest also, so this really is possible with a small number of followers. These are my personal results, but Tailwind also publishes the Typical Results of Tailwind for Pinterest Members every year, so you can see exactly what the average growth rate looks like for their members.

In December 2018 it jumped even further to a massive average monthly viewers of 427,202 and 10,888 monthly engaged. This is all with thanks to using Tailwind, the best Pinterest scheduler available.

Pinterest and Tailwind
Tailwind

So why is Tailwind the best Pinterest scheduler?

Tailwind is the smartest way to manage your presence across the visual web (Pinterest & Instagram), and offers a complete suite of marketing tools including Smart SchedulingAnalytics & MonitoringContent DiscoveryPromotionEducation, Tribes, Hashtag Suggestions and more.  

I couldn’t agree more, this extension has boosted my pinterest traffic by 1,000% in just 2 months. 

There are a number of things you can do with Tailwind:

The Best Pinterest Scheduler – Tailwind

Schedule Pins for Pinterest

This is key to working with Pinterest, especially if you want to succeed.

Tailwind will tell you when is the best time to post, and you can post as much or as little as you want. 

weekly schedule Tailwind

Everything in green is when a post is scheduled and posted onto Pinterest. As you can see I post roughly 30 different pins each day. These, of course, are not all mine, I do roughly 50% mine and 50% others. I know a lot of people recommend the 80 – 20% rule, but this works for me. I am based in the UK and would hate to miss important traffic from America and beyond. Most of my Pinterest traffic still comes from the UK which is perfect for my blog. 

Having a tool that allows me to schedule pins on Pinterest has become essential to my Pinterest marketing strategy, growing my followers, and bringing traffic back to my blog – which is what we all strive for. This is why I believe Tailwind is the best Pinterest scheduler.

Tailwind Browser extension

Another great tool that Tailwind offers is the tailwind extension, I use this so much and makes life very easy when scheduling pins.

Tailwind Extension

As you can see here in Pinterest I can click on a photo and at the top, I can schedule it through Tailwind. Without actually going through to their website.

Tailwind Extension for pinterest. The best pinterest scheduler

This is a photo taken from a post on my blog and as you can see at the top I can just click on the link and schedule it. This can be done with any image on the web.

A new pop-up window appears with the image saved. 

In this pop up I can:

Tailwind
  • select which board I want it added to.
  • change the description.
  • Add it to a tribe ( I will talk about Tribes later)
  • choose if I want to share it to Facebook or Twitter.
  • click on the little clock and select the month, the day and the time for the pin to be published.
  • Or, I can add it to my schedule using the auto-queue tool (this is my preferred option unless it is a time specific post)
Schedule to Tailwind to increase Pinterest traffic

Interval Pinning for Pinterest

Do you have lots of boards that are relevant for your recent blog post? If so I just love this feature. 

All you need to do is schedule your recent blog to Tailwind and add it to all relevant Pinterest boards. The easiest way to do this is in board lists. 

Tailwind Board Lists

I mainly blog about homeschooling, family travel and kids and parents so I combine all of these into a board list. This means that when I come to schedule them, I just click on these boards. Tailwind then schedules them into each of these boards at different times.

How to use Board lists in Tailwind

As you can see here, this post why we love taking kids to the theatre I can add it to kids and parents board group. This has 50 different boards that are relevant to this post, so I don’t have to add to them all separately.

The Interval Pinning feature of Tailwind App allows you to set a time period between when each image gets pinned, from 10 minutes to 90 days apart. Personally I set it to 24 hours between pins.

Tailwind Tribes

Tailwind tribes have been key in achieving the 1,000% increase in Pinterest traffic.

You can search for Tailwind Tribes in your niche and either join or request to join depending on the group manager. I have created a family travel tailwind tribe which you can join and post your vertical family travel pins.

When you are scheduling your posts you can also add to your tribes:

Submit a pin to your tribes

The red warning sign shows that I have saved this pin already into this tribe, it also tells me how many days ago I did it. 

I have a paid unlimited monthly submissions, but you can opt for a free version of this too. 

Each tribe has its own rules that you must follow to remain in the tribe. Most of them insist on vertical pins (which is key to Pinterest) and most are 1 for 1 pin. So if you post your own pin once you must then pin someone else’s. This is all completed through the scheduler on Tailwind. So they are mixed up with your blog posts.

Example of a Tribe on Tailwind

This tailwind tribe as you can see above has 83.7k reshares and 53.5k repins. Others have shared my posts 28 times and I have a potential reach of 2 million from this group alone.

Tailwind Insights

If you have a business Pinterest account (which you definitely should) you can find some analytics in here. However, they are nowhere near as detailed as the Tailwind Analytics.

You can get insights on:

  • which of your pins is performing the best
  • which boards are performing the best
  • how many new followers you’re getting
  • Want to know a particular pin did or how pins are doing on a particular board? Just use the easy search functionality to find whatever it is you’re looking for.

You get a weekly report showing total pins, repins, followers, and most repinned boards that can be broken down into your profile performance.

Weekly Summary Tailwinds

Virality Score

Virality Score = Total Repins divided by Total Pins

It’s a content quality metric. e.g. if you go from pinning 10x per week to pinning 100x per week you would expect your repins to grow, but, is your content getting better over time? How viral is your content? Are you over pinning or underpinning?

Engagement Score

Engagement Score = Total Repins divided by Total Pins divided by (1,000 followers)

A metric in regards to follower growth over time that can give you an idea of how engaged your audience is with the content you are sharing.

Engagement Rate

How many of your pins have at least one pin vs. no repins

Board Insights

Click on each tab and column to display the relevant data.

Board Insights

Monitor Your Blog

See how much activity you are getting from your own blog or website over the last 7 days!

Latest Pins

What images have actually been pinned from your blog posts.

Referral Traffic

The number of visitors to your blog from Pinterest over last 7 days!

Finding Your Best Pins with Pin Inspector

You’re just clicks away from repinning your best content.

In the Tailwind App dashboard is a tab called Pin Inspector, and this table holds everything you’ve ever pinned on Pinterest.

You can search for your pins via a board, category or keyword and see what has performed well over a set time period. Then you can repin your top performing content.

Now that you know what’s popular, you can reschedule this content to other relevant boards, or even to the same board. It’s a great way to boost traffic from old posts and expose it to your Pinterest followers who may have missed it the first time.

Free Trial to the Best Pinterest Scheduler

Tailwind offers a free trial. There isn’t a time limit for the 100 pins, either, and no credit card is required.

Tailwind Pricing

I have the Tailwind plus account which is $15 (approx. £10.75) per month, or if you do what I do and pay a one-time annual payment of $120 (£86) you get 4 months free and your monthly payment comes down to only $9.99 (£7.15) per month. 

For $9.99 per month, you get unlimited Pin Scheduling (400 pins per month on the $15 monthly plan) plus all the amazing other features I’ve just mentioned.

Within this you can also access up to 5 Tailwind Tribes and post up to 30 blog posts each month. 

If you want to power up on your Tailwind Tribes you can pay an additional amount annually. These as the current exchange rate work out as approximately £42 per year for 10 tribes and 80 monthly submissions, £85 per year for unlimited tribe membership with 200 monthly submissions or £257 per  year for unlimited tribe and unlimited monthly submissions.

Tailwind Tribes Power Up

Tailwind Review – Final Say

Is Tailwind App worth it?

Absolutely.

I find it very easy to schedule posts to Pinterest, and it saves me no end of time. If I had to manually pin to the boards I would be doing it for hours a day. I honestly think this is the best Pinterest scheduler available.

If you want to be serious about marketing and gaining Pinterest traffic to your blog, this, in my opinion, is a must.

THERE IS CURRENTLY A DEAL THAT IF YOU JOIN TAILWIND WITH A PAID PLAN YOU WILL RECEIVE A $30 CREDIT. 

Tailwind

If you are interested in increasing your traffic on Twitter, check out my guide to Social Oomph.

What is your best Pinterest scheduler? Please let me know in the comments below.

How I increased Pinterest views by 1000% in just 2 months. With the best pinterest scheduler Tailwind #bloggertips
How Pinterest is my main social media platform for traffic to my blog thanks to Tailwind #tailwind #pinterest #seo
Summary
How I boosted my Pinterest traffic by 1,000% in just 2 months
Article Name
How I boosted my Pinterest traffic by 1,000% in just 2 months
Description
The best Pinterest scheduler - See how I boosted my Pinterest traffic by 1,000% in just 2 months using Tailwind. This includes how to use Tailwind for Pinterest and pricing plans for Tailwind.
Author
Publisher Name
Freddies Mummy UK
Publisher Logo
  •  
  •  
  • 367
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
freddiesmummyuk

I am Clare, a homeschooling mum in the UK to my gorgeous 9 year old son, Freddie. We also live with my bearded husband Stuart.

All posts

42 Comments

  • Loretta April 24, 2018 at 8:38 pm

    I’ve just started with Tailwind, so I’m still learning the ins and outs, but I am definitely seeing some results start to trickle in. It’s definitely a powerful and handy tool to have 🙂

    • freddiesmummyuk April 24, 2018 at 8:54 pm

      Its really good, stick with it. I can’t believe the difference it has made for my blog. 🙂

  • Suburban Mum April 25, 2018 at 8:24 am

    I have tailwind and was using it regularly last year but have not touched it for months so I should really get back into doing so! Some fab tips here!

    Thank you for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday x

  • Views From an Urban Lake April 25, 2018 at 9:36 am

    Interesting reading, I’m still debating on if I should start paying for tailwind. Slowly leaning towards doing so.

    • freddiesmummyuk April 25, 2018 at 9:37 am

      I highly recommend it 🙂

  • Kate on thin ice (@kateonthinice) April 25, 2018 at 1:04 pm

    On my to do list all this stuff so great to have a clear guide and recommendations #TwinklyTuesday

  • Morgan Prince April 25, 2018 at 8:13 pm

    I’ve heard a few people recommend Tailwind now, I really should check it out. Thanks. x
    #bloggerclubuk

  • Kat April 26, 2018 at 8:05 am

    ah great tips. I never really got on with tailwind and I’m a manual pinner but joining group boards has been a game changer for me! #bloggerclubuk

  • Memeandharri April 26, 2018 at 10:12 am

    For some reason I just can’t seem to get my head around Pinterest but I know I need to. I am going to save this post for when I have some time to dedicate to Pinterest – well done by the way! #sharingthebloglove

    • freddiesmummyuk April 26, 2018 at 10:50 am

      Thank you, yes I struggled with Pinterest but using Tailwinds has helped no end 🙂

  • Laura | Dot Makes 4 April 26, 2018 at 5:37 pm

    Great tips! I’ve signed up to Tailwind but not used it yet! I really must look at it and Pinterest more 🙂 #KCACOLS

  • Jessica Powell April 26, 2018 at 9:40 pm

    Wow, those are amazing results! I used to be really into Pinterest a couple of years ago but I haven’t done anything with it in ages. Maybe it’s time to get back into it! #KCACOLS

  • viewfromthebeachchair April 27, 2018 at 12:31 pm

    I have yet to master pinterest. I have been focusing on getting my twitter up. My next goal is pinterest! Thanks for the info. I will check out tailwind. #blogstravaganza

  • Digital Motherhood April 27, 2018 at 8:08 pm

    This is fab. I’ve only recently started getting good results with Pinterest and Tailwind is defintiely to thank! #ablogginggoodtime

  • Rachel | Kids, Cuddles and Muddy Puddles April 27, 2018 at 8:14 pm

    Wow, those are inspiring results! I’m yet to investigate Pinterest properly but it’s on my list. I just never seem to have the time to devote to getting it up and running! Thanks for the helpful info. #itsok

  • Tubbs April 27, 2018 at 8:59 pm

    I’ve been wondering about a scheduling tool and this does look good … Not sure about paying for something tho’!

  • rawsonjl April 27, 2018 at 9:30 pm

    I joined Tailwind and set up a basic account but I have yet to sit down with the site and really understand what to do with it. This has inspired me to get on that! Congrats on the growth; that’s fabulous! #FabFridayPost

  • theladybirdsadventures April 27, 2018 at 11:03 pm

    I love pinterest and tailwind. Great tips here. Thanks for joining #bloggerpinparty

  • Jo - Cup of Toast April 29, 2018 at 9:25 am

    These are great results! Well done and thank you for sharing your post with #Blogstravaganza 🙂

  • mackenzieglanville April 29, 2018 at 10:05 am

    wow you ate working so hard and so smart! Great stats and great advice thank you for sharing it with us all at #ablogginggoodtime

  • We're going on an adventure April 29, 2018 at 12:33 pm

    I tried Tailwind a little while back but noticed absolutely no difference in the amount of traffic I was picking up – I don’t think I’d quite got to grips with it though as I know it really works for lots of people.

  • Emma T April 29, 2018 at 11:55 pm

    Wow, that is great results. How often do you schedule a day, and what’s the proportion of your pins vs others? #sharingthebloglove

  • anywaytostayathome April 30, 2018 at 11:19 am

    That’s flipping amazing! Well done you. I really need to up my Pinterest game #blogstravaganza

    • anywaytostayathome May 2, 2018 at 9:11 pm

      Popping back from #fortheloveofBLOG

  • Kate (@Newmummykate) April 30, 2018 at 12:05 pm

    Interesting reading, I’ve been leaning towards signing up but haven’t got round to it yet, I’ve heard lots of positive comments about Tailwind. Thanks for sharing and linking up with #TwinklyTuesday x

  • Laura (@dearbearandbean) April 30, 2018 at 1:43 pm

    I’ve never taken the time to understand pinterest and I just can’t see how my blog posts would work on there. I know I need to take the time to do it, but I need someone to hold my hand! Thank you for joining us at #SharingTheBlogLove

  • Annette, 3 Little Buttons April 30, 2018 at 3:35 pm

    Oh wow, that’s a huge jump in views. I’ve still not really worked on pinterest and not tinkered with tailwind at all. I’ll need to save your post and go back over it when I work on pinterest at some point! It looks really worth the extra work. Thanks for joining us for the #dreamteam 🙂

  • Katy - Hot Pink Wellingtons May 1, 2018 at 8:52 am

    This is really interesting for me. I love Pinterest for my own personal pinning, but I’ve never really used it for my blog as I felt that it wasn’t the right content for it. But clearly there are people in my niche having great success with it, so it sounds lime this is something I need to get on board with. Bookmarking this post and I’ll be heading back once I’ve signed up to Tailwind! Thanks for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove

  • The Squirmy Popple May 2, 2018 at 9:53 pm

    I’ve only just started using Pinterest and am still trying to get to grips with it. I’m not sure my content is quite right, but I know it works for a lot of people, so I should really give Tailwind a go and see if it works for me. Thanks for the tips! #fortheloveofBLOG

  • […] something that I think I really need to get on board with now. I really enjoyed this post on How to Grow Pinterest, and it clearly outlines how to use things like Tailwind and Tribes for great results. I know […]

  • passion fruit, paws and peonies May 3, 2018 at 8:11 am

    This is a great guide on tailwind. I’ve used it for ages but this has shown my i need to used it more extensively! xx

  • Sarah May 5, 2018 at 4:19 pm

    I’ve heard so many good things about tailwind, and will definitely start using it more! #TheListLinky

  • Alice V May 6, 2018 at 11:54 pm

    I like how tailwind is easy to use and the tribes feature. Thanks for sharing your analytics, it helps to see how tailwind actually helps gain traffic.

  • Helen Gandy May 7, 2018 at 9:33 pm

    Wow sounds like a great thing to use, I never have the time to dedicate to all my social promo! Oops! Thanks for linking up #BloggersBests

  • The Mummy Bubble May 8, 2018 at 10:01 am

    Fab explanation of Tailwind! I love it, it’s really boosted my Pinterest game! Thanks for sharing with #fortheloveofBLOG

  • The Queen of Collage May 8, 2018 at 11:21 am

    I’ve heard a number of people use Tailwind and Tribes to grow Pinterest. I’ve yet to get on board with them. #SharingtheBlogLove

  • Su {Ethan&Evelyn} (@ethannevelyn) May 29, 2018 at 7:19 am

    This is Amazing! Congratulations! I certainly NEED these tips from you. Thank you for sharing x

  • Mandi June 1, 2018 at 6:56 pm

    Pinterest is fast becoming my favourite, but I didn’t know about the board lists, we be investigating that on Monday once all the children are back in school.

  • […] are your key tips for bloggers? Let me know in the […]

  • […] Twitter for a long time now, but I have always bulked at the cost. I have had amazing success with Tailwind for Pinterest, so after 8 months of blogging full time, I thought it was about time to focus on Twitter […]

  • […] out my posts on how to increase your pinterest and twitter […]

  • Sayma May 16, 2019 at 10:53 am

    100% Tailwind helps increase traffic in website. https://bit.ly/2GuMf8R

  • Leave a Reply

    Popular Links

    Subscribe & Follow

    Freddies Mummy UK

    Welcome to Freddies Mummy UK, a place where we share our homeschool journey and family travel. Read More

    Clare

    Subscribe via Email

    Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

    IXL 20% off membership

    Timeshares in Orlando are a dime a dozen, so if you’d like to sell Orange Lake timeshare in Orlando, you’re going to need the help of a licensed broker. Timeshares for sale on the secondary market are difficult to sell without a firm specialized in timeshare resale.

    ×